# **AWARDS**

Presented at the 2013 General Meeting of the ASSBT

Disneyland Resort Anaheim, Calif.

February 27 - March 2,2013

## HONORARY MEMBERSHIP

The ASSBT awards Honorary Membership to individuals who have rendered outstanding service to the beet sugar industry or have by virtue of scientific accomplishments acquired the admiration and respect of the Society.

This year the ASSBT awarded four Honorary Memberships:

#### Dr. Allan Cattanach

Al Cattanach, after working 23 years as a Sugarbeet Extension Specialist for North Dakota State University and the University of Minnesota, accepted the position of General Agronomist for American Crystal Sugar Company where for the past 15 years he guided, trained and mentored the largest sugarbeet agricultural staff in the United States. Al has served on numerous university and industry committees and boards; including serving as President of both the Beet Sugar Development Foundation and ASSBT Board of Directors. Al, a previous recipient of the Meritorious Service Award, has been responsible for helping growers and other researchers better understand sugarbeet production and disease management in effort to increase grower profitability.

#### Mr. Ken Hoff

Ken Hoff dedicated his entire career of 37 years to the beet sugar industry, holding many positions in sugar factories including Vice President of Operations at both Great Western Sugar Company and Monitor Sugar Company. He served on the Board of Directors of the Beet Sugar Development Foundation and is currently a Director of the McGinnis Institute of Beet Sugar Technology. Even well past his retirement, Ken has the drive and desire to help impart knowledge to the future leaders of our industry.

#### Dr. Robert Lewellen

Bob Lewellen, who also received the Meritorious Service award in 1991 and the Savitsky award in 2009, has conducted sugarbeet research for 39 years at USDA-ARS, Salinas, California. Bob has over 125 publications and over 120 presentations at scientific meetings, research conferences and production meetings. He has released over 240 breeding lines and parental lines that have been used in commercial sugarbeet hybrids. His work with Rhizomania resistance was crucial in maintaining the profitability of the sugarbeet industry, not only in the United States, but around the world.

## Mr. Robert Strickland

Bob Strickland began his career with Holly Sugar Corporation, in Herford, Texas. Throughout his career he held many positions at many locations including Vice President of Operations at both Holly Sugar Corporations and Southern Minnesota Beet Sugar Cooperative. Bob served on many industry committees and was president of the Beet Sugar Development Foundation. In his 39 year sugar career, Bob mentored and coached numerous people throughout their careers as they progressed through the ranks in the sugar industry.

## MERITORIOUS SERVICE AWARD

The ASSBT awards Meritorious Service Awards to members who have been outstanding in promoting the objectives of the Society or has made significant contributions to the beet sugar industry.

This year the ASSBT awarded four Meritorious Service Awards:

#### Dr. Linda Hanson

Dr. Linda Hanson is a Research Plant Pathologist for USDA-ARS at the Sugarbeet and Bean Research Unit, East Lansing, Michigan. She is highly regarded for her research on sugarbeet plant pathogens, especially soil borne diseases caused by Fusarium and Rhizoctonia. Linda has presented numerous papers and participated in many forums, and is an expert in area of disease diagnosis for the sugarbeet industry.

### Dr. Don Morishita

Dr. Don Morishita is an extension weed scientist with the University of Idaho, Kimberly, Idaho. He has served on the Board of Directors for ASSBT, served on the program committee, and has presented numerous papers and participated in many forums. Don has developed extension programs and published over 340 technical reports and is recognized as an expert on integrated weed management in sugarbeets.

# Mr. Paul Pfenninger

Paul Pfenninger is the Vice President of Agriculture at Michigan Sugar. He has served on many sugarbeet related committees and Boards, including serving as President of West Coast Beet Seed, President of the Beet Sugar Development Foundation and President of ASSBT. Paul has always been very supportive of the ASSBT by serving on committees, presenting papers and participating in forums. Paul is widely respected by allied industry representatives and his peers in the sugar industry.

#### Mr. Peter Regitnig

Peter Regitnig is the Research Agronomist with Lantic, Inc. in Al-

berta, Canada. He has served on the ASSBT Board of Directors. Peter has presented many papers, participated in many forums, and has served as session chairman. He is highly respected by all who know him and who have worked with him. Peter has an outstanding reputation as a production agronomist and is very willing to reach across the border to assist or share his knowledge and research with his colleagues.

# FORTY-YEAR VETERAN AWARD

The ASSBT awards Forty-Year Veteran certificates to those individuals completing forty years of service to the beet sugar industry.

This year the ASSBT awarded 30 certificates:

Donald D. Badt, American Crystal Sugar Company Michael Albert Benson, American Crystal Sugar Company Lonnie Clemson, Southern Minnesota Beet Sugar Cooperative A. Neal Davie, The Amalgamated Sugar Company, LLC Russ B. Dav. The Amalgamated Sugar Company, LLC Michel F. Desprez, Florimond Desprez Robert J. Dregseth, North Dakota University Jerry S. Feltman, The Amalgamated Sugar Company. LLC Jerry, D. Garner, The Amalgamated Sugar Company, LLC David J. Higgins, The Amalgamated Sugar Company, LLC James M. Huckfeldt, The Western Sugar Cooperative James H. Isaak, Jr, The Amalgamated Sugar Company, LLC Donald R. Johnson, The Amalgamated Sugar Company, LLC James O. Keidel, Michigan Sugar Company Leonard D. Kerbs, The Amalgamated Sugar Company, LLC James H. Kurish, Michigan Sugar Company M. Louise Long, American Crystal Sugar Raul R. Lopez, The Amalgamated Sugar Company, LLC Ronald M. Markey, Michigan Sugar Company Gonzalo Martinez, The Amalgamated Sugar Company, LLC Diane V. Patterson, The Amalgamated Sugar Company, LLC Richard Albert Rossol, American Crystal Sugar Company Michael W. Rucker, The Amalgamated Sugar Company, LLC Thomas L. Schlatter, Michigan Sugar Company Ronald E. Schmidt, The Western Sugar Cooperative Charles L. Spencer, The Amalgamated Sugar Company, LLC Paulette M. Suedel, American Crystal Sugar Renee M. Whitmore, The Amalgamated Sugar Company, LLC Kevin L. Wilson, The Amalgamated Sugar Company, LLC J. Kent Wimmer, The Western Sugar Cooperative